h1

Horlicks Cookies

March 6, 2008

After my pound cake failure, I was too depressed! >.< I have to do something to spice up my sulky mood! Did a trial run of these cookies, as I was planning to make them for my cousin on sat! (^^,) Dogs? Bears? Pigs? what do they look like to you? :P was making these cookies when my mummy came home from groceries shopping, and her 1st reaction was “SOOOOO CUTE!! I wouldn’t bear to eat these piggy cookies!” >.< LOL, pigs? Kind of too far off yea? Gave some to my dearest buddy aishi, to “sample” them and she too commented that they look like bears >.> I’m having doubts on what to put as post titles. Piggies cookies? Bears cookies? *tap feet* and bro just came home and say they look like mices! GOSH! >.< i’m bad at shaping?

The name of this recipe? Horlicks doggies cookies! It was shared in kitchen carpers some time back, with really good reviews from forum mates. And NO SUGAR OR EGG!*update* Thanks eatyet for pointing out :P As horlicks is a malted drink, there is already sugar traces in them, so no additional sugar is required to be added. Woot! Interesting aint it? and they are Cute lil thing too! Added in some crushed cornflakes to give the cookies some “bite” (^.^) these are so addictive and loveable! it is so fun, doing the features for the cookies! (^^,) check out the different “look” in their eyes! :D

 

Ingredients:
180g butter, soften at room temperature
80g Horlicks (original flavour)
200g cake flour
25g corn flour
25g milk powder

Fillings:
100g chocolate chips
20g cornflakes (optional, crushed)

Features:
some chocolate rice
some Koko Krunch

Steps:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 150deg C. Line baking tray with baking paper and set aside.
  2. Cream butter and Horlicks for about three minutes till pale in color.
  3. Add in cake flour, cornflour and milk powder and beat for about one minute to form
    dough.
  4. Divide dough into 10g each. Flatten each piece of dough, and add in the fillings (some chocolate chips and cornflakes). Roll into balls.
  5. Decorate as desired, using the ingredients to make the features of the dogs. Insert two pieces of Koko Krunch to form the ears, chocolate rice for the eyes, and a chocolate chip in the centre for the nose.
  6. Bake at 150 deg C for about 35- 40mins. Or till golden brown.
  7. Leave to cool on wire rack before storing in an airtight container.

Verdict?

DELICIOUS! And sooooooo cute~ a hit with the kids for sure~ it would be enjoyable to make them with children. :D I’m now thinking of adding in nuts the next time! As there is no sugar added, be generous with the chocolate chips if u are more to the sweet side :P i had around 8 pieces of chocolate chips in mine and it feels just right for me~ :D Unable to get Horlicks? u can replaced them with Milo or Ovaltine, it works the same, however the end product will be a darker tone doggie. =X

- .: Baker Lee :.

40 comments

  1. OMG, those are adorable! And no sugar–wonderful! But what is Horlicks, and if I can’t find it, do you know what I could use instead?


  2. They totally look like dogs to me. My kids would love these … although I don’t know what Horlicks is.


  3. Aha! It’s malted milk powder, right? I’m pretty sure i could the Ovaltine Malted Milk powder…I think.


  4. Horlicks is the brand of a malted drink. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Horlicks :D

    yup u are right Elle! I have seen reviews of those that replaced it with either Milo or Ovaltine, and it works as well. just that u get a darker tone doggie :P the before and after sun tan look :D


  5. lol! I am looking forward to making these with the kids–thanks so much for sharing it!


  6. Very Cute!

    I see pups. The white face and long brown ears. I see my beagles. lol :-D


  7. I say these look like little puppys :]


  8. I love these! They are so cute. And I love Horlicks so I can’t wait to make these!


  9. I vote for “Mr. Bill” from SNL. “Ohh NOOOOooooo!”


  10. Elle: Have fun with the kids! :D

    Eat4Fun and Tarah : Thank God! we finally have agreeing folks! :P

    Madeline: Do try, there’s no sugar added! But if u are kind of on the sweet side, u should consider adding some icing/powder sugar to the dough, say 15-20g or more chocolate chips in the filling! (^.^)

    Kate: LOL, girl! u are feeding me with ideas! i guess i can make Mr Bill with cornflakes as “hair”, “eyes” and “nose” with choco chips the next time! :P


  11. ok, they look cute, and i will probably try making them with the kids i watch sometime and pass them off as chocolate garnished hounds, but…. with a name like horlicks… gotta say… animals aren’t *quite* the first thing that came to mind… something a little more… plastic… inflatable… well, im sure y’all get the picture.


  12. These are ridiculously cute!


  13. Haha I like the ANGRY one! 0(\ . /)0


  14. i havent had horlick since i was a kid, but i’m pretty sure it has sugar in it or glucose.


  15. Velvetmonkey : i do agree they look like play-doh! XD

    eatyet : you are right! there are traces of glucose in the horlicks! therefore it’s not sugarless after all! *smack head* thanks for pointing out! :D


  16. Soo cute! They look like people with different expressions to me. I can pick myself out, as well as my boyfriend, LOL. great post! have a great day!


  17. Hi! I saw a picture of your cookies at tastespotting and thought they looked like screaming/singing children! Now that I see the rest of the pictures, they do vaguely resemble puppies. Ha ha.. Anyway, nice to meet you!


  18. I’m so excited. I didn’t know you could do that wuth Horlicks. I have a jar in my pantry. Yeah *me jumping up and down!


  19. oops.. I was so excited I misspelled with…


  20. Travelnooks, Ginger M : Thanks for the kind comments! :D

    Evil chef mom : try them with your 4 lil ones! :) it’s fun!


  21. They look so cute! I love Horlicks candy and I’m so sad they don’t make them anymore.


  22. No winkie doggies?


  23. So cute!!! I can’t decide if they look like pigs or dogs, but they sure are “cartoony”, and I have to make them for my kids! Great! :)))


  24. Joy: Thanks! horlicks, ovaltine and milo candies are my fav when i’m a kid. :P

    Medena: aye! it’s fun to do these on a weekend with kids. :D keep them within range and occupied!


  25. Gosh! Those are really adorable. I would love to bake these for my daughter. Unfortunately they don’t sell Horlicks in France. Can it be replaced with something else?


  26. cooking ninja: u can replaced it with milo or ovaltine but it gives a slightly darker tone doggies. :D


  27. These cookies are adorable! The puppies are too cute to eat:) What a great idea. My daughter would love to make them with me. Printing out the recipe now:) Thanks for sharing! I love your blog, and subscribed to it already. BTW, thank for stopping by my site, too.


  28. thank you for sharing. I’m going to try it out with my kids one day.


  29. [...] friend Marisa sent me this link to the cutest dog cookies ever. The original post from a girl named Amanda’s Singaporean Cooking Blog. They are actually really easy to make. I’ve Americanized the recipe to help everyone here [...]


  30. It is very nice to eat,whenever is eat getting good taste.
    ————
    peer

    Sreevysh Corp


  31. can use 3-in-1 horlicks? =x or only the normal one?


  32. Your site is thousand times improved as compared to my sms blog, which actually looks very bad and ugly.


  33. Wow… so cute… the cookies are very nice. The kids like lot these cookies. The kids will have these baking cookies with playing and fun. Thanks for the good information.


  34. Can Blogger be a good place to post a webcomic?


  35. [...] tank cartier tank watch cartier trinity b4052700 uk cartier trinity ring cartier uhr cartier uhren cartier watch cartier watch women cartier watches cartier watches for [...]


  36. [...] orologi invicta pro diver invicta radio invicta redgold invicta reserve invicta russian diver invicta shark invicta speedway invicta subaqua invicta sunday run Filed under: Uncategorized [...]


  37. It looks delicious. This is different and lovely! Using horlicks to makes cookies is an nice idea. Kids will love this one. This is one of healthy snacks for children.


  38. I’m not sure exactly why but this site is loading extremely slow for me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a problem on my end? I’ll check back later on and see if the problem
    still exists.


  39. I do consider all of the ideas you’ve presented in your post. They are very convincing and will certainly work. Still, the posts are very quick for novices. May you please extend them a bit from next time? Thank you for the post.


  40. Greate pieces. Keep writing such kind of information on your site.
    Im really impressed by your site.
    Hi there, You’ve performed a great job. I’ll certainly digg it and in my view recommend to my friends.

    I am sure they will be benefited from this website.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

