h1

Easter Special II – Hot Cross Donut Muffins

March 22, 2008

Easter is a time of rebirth and resurrection; celebrating the Resurrection of our Savior, LORD, Jesus Christ on the third day after His crucifixion.

Yes, part 2 of my Easter Special~ :D This time, Hot Cross Muffins~ *wink* Like my previous hot cross cookies, they follow the hot cross theme. Dried fruit(Cranberries and raisins), spices and top with a cross(cheese slice into strips, adds a taste of saltiness to the sweet topping! – the kind of experience when u have fries dipped with sundae ice-cream. That’s the way i love to have my fries :P ) These are my new favorite muffins! veeeeeeeeeeeeeeery soft, fluffy and yet easy to make! DEFINITELY A KEEPER!

As you can see, i made a few plain ones as well… simple,beautiful and classic look. This recipe yields me 8 big muffins. Mummy took 2 of them for breakfast. After breakfast, we are left with 4, i was intending to share some with my relative who stays just across the street, but they are so good that mummy refused to share! Claiming she wants them for tea! *laugh* I guess I will make more when I stock up on milk later! :P

Like all muffins, these are 1 bowl recipe. Just mix till just combine, scoop batter into muffins cups, into the oven. TADA! :D Muffins! Hee~ This yummy recipe is taken from Hillbilly Housewife. Many thanks to the baker who created this recipe! My family is very very thankful! *curtsy*

 

Ingredients:
1/3 cup (60g) shortening
1/2 cup (110g) sugar
1 medium egg
1-1/2 cups (190g) flour
1-1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
3/4 cup (180g) milk

For The Topping: (mix and set aside)
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon


Melted margarine/Butter

Steps:

  1. Preheat oven to 175 Degree C.
  2. In a mixing bowl mash together the shortening and sugar.
  3. Add the egg and whisk it all up until it is smooth.
  4. Measure the flour, baking powder, salt and nutmeg into the bowl.
  5. Pour in the milk.
  6. Mix the batter with a whisk/fork until it is just combine. do not overbeat.
  7. Drop the mixture into muffin cups. Make sure not to over fill the muffin cups, 1/2 to 2/3 full is full enough.
  8. Bake for 25-30mins, till an inserted skewer comes out clean and muffins top are slightly brown.
  9. Take the muffins out of the pan. When they are cool enough to handle, dip/brush the tops of the muffins with melted margarine/butter.
  10. Then dip them into the powdered sugar/cinnamon mixture.

* NOTE *
Make sure you use shortening, Not Margarine. The shortening gives this recipe it’s special texture.

Verdict?
1 word! YUUUUUUUUUMMMMMMMMY~ :D

- .: Baker Lee :.

8 comments

  1. oh my goodness.. u r tempting me.. with my favourite cinnamon sugar and cranberries on the muffns. i want some!


  2. YUMMY indeed Amanda!! Lucky Mummy who got 2. Love the pictures…WOW; hve never seen Hot Cross Muffins before. Gotta make these soon. They look PERFECTO!!! Happy Easter to you my dear! Have a GREAT Sunday!!!


  3. Love the hot cross theme! These look great!


  4. Ling: :P soon soon! I’m looking forward to out picnic session! these are definitely on the list!

    Deeba: These are delicious~ you got to try them out too. :D Happy Happy Easter to you and your family.

    Brilynn: Thanks! i’m now tiking of my next product already! :P


  5. I simply love your idea of the hot cross muffin. How innovative! It is perfect for Easter morning. You rock!!!! I shall have to try these next time for Easter.


  6. Hi,
    I LOVE your blog, just ‘found’ your blog this morning. Happy to discover that we visited similar website especially my favourite Auntie Yochana!

    Just a question for you, can I replace shortening with butter ?(never use shortening at all before)

    Thanks,
    Kium


  7. Great website…

    [...]we like to honor many other internet sites on the web, even if they aren’t linked to us, by linking to them. Under are some webpages worth checking out[...]……


  8. I’m just finding your blog..lovely! I made these muffins today. There are delicious. I made them with walnuts and served with jam – YUM! This is a definite keeper recipe. I’ll be a frequent visitor here. Thank you for sharing. :)



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

