h1

Steam Banana Cake

March 26, 2008

My all time fav. steam cake! <3 Recently pulled out this old recipe =X “magnet-ed” under the collection of display magnets on the fridge door. Always wanted to make this myself, that’s the main reason y the recipe was on the fridge door. Time flies and it has been there on the fridge door for close to 3 years. >.< This beautiful recipe was generously shared by a friend’s mother… every time she made this, she will always be sharing it with me! it has been a long time, therefore i decided to pull out the recipe and make some for myself! :P Handed down traditional recipes are wonderful recipes! *nod* I love the soft fluffiness and simplicity of this cake. + the nice aroma of bananas~ *inhale*

YUM YUM! instead of steaming 1 huge cake, and slicing them up for serving, i steam them in my muffin pan lined with muffins cups. :D In 2 days, i made these 4 times! :X they are really easy and great! mummy’s friends love them so much that they requested to pack some home for their family! LOL! I felt good… *float around* though it was not my own recipe, but i was given a really good one! :P

Ingredients: (6 big muffins)
2 Eggs
100g sugar
2 ripe bananas, mashed (200g)
150g Self-raising Flour
1/8 tsp Baking Soda
75g oil (any flavorless oil)

Steps:

  1. Sift together self-raising flour and baking soda, set aside.
  2. In a mixing bowl, whisk together Eggs and sugar till ribbon stage.
  3. Mix in mashed bananas, beat till combine.
  4. Gently fold in flour mixture and Oil, taking care not to deflate the eggs and sugar mixture.
  5. Pour Batter into muffin pan, lined with muffin cups.
  6. Steam over high heat for 15mins or till an inserted skewer comes out clean.

Verdict?
it is sooooooo good! u MUST try it! + it is easy to make :P healthier and they store very well. As u can just throw them into the fridge, before consumption, heat them in the steamer for a couple of mins, and u get hot, soft and fluffy cake! :P

-.: Baker Lee :.

99 comments

  1. I love that these are steamed!


  2. these look so lovely. and much healthier than its baked sister. thanks for sharing. sure is lovely isn’t it, when you get genuine handed-down recipes? nothing beats the good ol’ tried & tested ancient secrets. ;) awesome x


  3. These look absolutely delectable! I just want to reach in my computer and swipe one! I will definitely be trying this recipe out!


  4. That looks so incredibly moist! I’ll definitely have to try!


  5. Looks really good =]

    this is my anime blog:
    http://etbots.wordpress.com/


  6. I’ve added this recipe to the ones on my fridge, hopefully it won’t take me 3 years to make it!


  7. this looks sooooo good. it’s like sponge cake meets banana bread. i know some “healthy” baked banana bread uses some apple sauce instead of oil, do you think it’ll work for this steamed version too?


  8. How do you steam it though? I mean, obviously not on th e stove. So do you put the muffin tin in water in the oven or something?


  9. Rachel: :D i’m sure u will love the taste of it too!

    Diva: Totally agree with u on that! :P i hope i get more handed down recipes! *pray*

    Steph, Cakewardrobe, nurboetb : yes! u have to try it. These are delicious.

    Brilynn: *giggle* maybe i should frame this recipe up yea?

    Jen: great idea! i guess it will bring a nice flavor to the cake. *ponder* i should try it out myself too! :P

    Carrie: yes, i steam my muffin tray lined with cups in a steamer on the stove. :D pretty fast and easy…


  10. I tried this recipe and it couldn’t have been easier!!! sooo yummy! i even served mine with a toasted walnut & honey cream cheese!


  11. Those look so good! Using steam to cook “baked” goods sounds interesting.


  12. why is steamed cakes healthier than baked ones when steamed one uses oil and baked ones uses butter?

    pardon my ignorance!

    anyway i really love how your blog is filled with pictures of thigns i love!! (: im definietly going to try some of your recipes!


  13. Gillian: I’m glad u like it! :D served with walnut and honey cream cheese! GOSH! those are my fav as well!

    Kevin: Steaming is so much easier and faster :P

    slayedoll: ohh! healthier as u are able to choose your kind oil used, Vegetable oil such as extra virgin olive oil are healthier choice, compared to animal fats like butter. :P U might find the following useful.. :)

    “Non animal fats like olive oil, sunflower and grape seed are unsaturated fats and, unlike butter (a saturated fat), will not raise cholesterol levels and increase the risk of heart disease. Olive oil, being a monounsaturated fat, is known to reduce levels of LDL cholesterol. Vegetable fats are also more easily metabolised by the body, meaning your body is more likely to burn the oil for immediate energy than store it as body fat.” – http://womansday.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=146499


  14. thanks for the enlightenment! (:


  15. I love all banana recipes, but I am don’t have a steamer. Is it worth getting one? Is there any other way to steam little cakes like these with another contraption?


  16. Noelle: For steaming, u can use either a steamer or a wok. :) using a wok, a Wire steamer rack that fits in the wok which looks like this -> http://www.wokshop.com/HTML/products/accessories/access_steamrack.html

    Alternatively u can just put a small bowl in the centre of the wok. Place your muffin tray or pan on top of the bowl.

    Cover the entire thing with a wok lid, or any large metal lid you’ve got handy.

    U might find the following information useful :P http://www.formerfatguyblog.com/2007/09/08/healthy-asian-cooking-iii-steaming.html
    all the alternative way to steaming without a steamer :D


  17. Geez, this looks so appealing to me that I’m going to make it tomorrow morning when I get up! Great blog!


  18. Cakebrain: Thanks! :D your black sesame pudding reminds me of 9-layer kueh! *drool* i should steam it too!


  19. i will try today . can i put any flavour ?


  20. Halimah: It is not necessary to add in any flavorings, but u can add in banana or vanilla essence if u fancy. :) hope that helps…


  21. Hi,
    I just want to thank you for sharing this recipe. I made it recently and totally loved it. Definitely a keeper! Thanks again. :)


  22. HI LCOM,

    u are most welcome! good things are meant to be shared~ :D


  23. hello:) i baked this today, it turned out great! thanks for sharing. looking forward to trying more of your steamed recipes ;p


  24. i tried this out too~ eating it for breakfast now~ yumS! thanks!


  25. Ting and Jiaying: I’m glad you girls tried this! Thanks for trying~ :P


  26. Hi, may I know in terms of volume, how many cups is the 2 mashed bananas? Cos’ I used 2 large del monte bananas, and the cake took like 45 mins to cook, and even then was still a little bit wet. (but tastes nice tho’: )). Thanks!


  27. hi kellie, i used medium size Asian bananas. not really sure how much will take measure up to in cups, the next time i make these, i will be sure to measure the amount :) let me get back to you on this. maybe u can try using 1 + 1/2 big bananas 1st?
    45mins? that’s weird, are u steaming in a cake pan or muffin cups? if u are steaming in a cake pan, the steaming time should be extended and adjusted accordingly. Hope that helps.


  28. Hi Mandy, thanks for replying : ). I steamed directly using the mixing bowl..lazy me : p. Will try steaming using muffin cups next time. Looking forward to you posting your steamed pandan cake recipe soon ; ).


  29. Hi,

    I have tried your steam banana cake yesterday afternoon. It turns out very good. I substitute melted butter instead of oil. I use 4 medium ripe bananas and the cake was so delicious and full with the bananas aroma. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Looking forward for more recipes.


  30. Kellie: *grin* we all love to cook, but dislike the cleaning up part yea? :P i love 1 bowl recipes too~ Yup! i sure will do that soon, after i finalize the recipe on it. :)

    Lily: congrats! :) i’m glad u like it! ^^


  31. Hi!! I tried this recipe and it was great!!

    Thanks for sharing the recipe.. here’s the link if you wanna drop by. :)

    http://sweetie-tooth.blogspot.com/2008/04/steamed-banana-cake.html


  32. Kellie: I have made these again yesterday! :P and this time, i measured the bananas… you should be using around 200g of mashed bananas. :) wish u success in making these!

    Orangespirals: Wah~ ^^ your looks good with the banana on top! *drool*


  33. Hi, I found this recipe when I was googling for a steamed banana cake recipe. I tried it with a few modifications – no sugar, no added water, wholemeal bread flour, butter & 1.5 teaspoons baking soda. it was absolutely delicious & tasted like a baked banana cake! Thanks!


  34. Hi brenda! woah~ u are indeed daring! :P no sugar at all! that’s really healthy. + wholemeal flour~ woahhhh~ I shall try it soon~ :D


  35. hello, has tried your steam banana cupcake, but err..when it was steaming, it was puffing up, but once out of the steamer it shrink…not so nice like urs :(( any idea what could be the reason? i didnt use the muffin tray, bcos it is not able to fit into the steamer. i use the chwee kueh cup and line it with muffin cup..

    but the cake was nice =) thanks!!


  36. Joyce: Hi! shrinking might be becos of overbeating! So try to not overbeat the mixture, ribbon stage will do :) or Might be the banana amount too much therefore not enough flour, so measure about 180- 200g of mashed bananas will do :) i hope that helps~


  37. hi! i stumbled upon your blog when i googled up dorayaki today =) been looking around and found these! i love banana cakes! with your recipe sounding so easy i might give this a shot asap. =)

    nice blog you got here o_0


  38. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Will definately try it out.Many tks ……..


  39. tried this recipe just now and WOW~
    It’s so easy and delicious!


  40. Chinggaisky and FeelIn: Thanks for the kind comments! :) yes, do try it out.. one of my fav recipes.

    Doreen: i’m Glad u like it :D


  41. I love this recipe, it turned out so moist and tender
    Thanks so much so sharing :)


  42. Can I make this into mini muffins? If yes, how long do I have to bake them? Thank you! I’m planning to make a large batch of this for a friend’s birthday!


  43. Quinn: these are steamed, not baked. :p if u are making them into smaller sizes, just reduce the steaming time. :) i steamed mine, medium muffin size for around 15mins. HOpe that helps. ;P


  44. Can you tell me what do you mean by beat till ribbon stage? I don’t know what this means. Is it till creamy and fluffy?


  45. hihi Pamela, when ribbon stage is achieved, u will be able to leave a trail( write an “8″ ) with your whisk or spoon. it will be visible for a short while before merging back into the mixture.


  46. I made this twice, once into mini muffins and once into medium muffins. Both steaming time was 7mins and 15mins respectively. Thanks!


  47. HI, it’s my 1st time trying to make cake. While steaming, it looks nice but after took out, it shrunk. What could be the reason? :P
    Thanks


  48. how would i make this in a 9×7 silicone pan?


  49. Quinn, I’m glad u tried it. :)

    Yean, u need to take note not to deflate the egg mixture when adding the flour. and also steam over high flames, do not open up the lid till it is cooked. opening it 1/2 way will caused it to collapse. Hope that helps :P

    fullofwonder, yes, most certainly u can. :) i made them into muffin size for easy consumption.


  50. Hi there! Looks yummy! I just posted about Classic Banana Layer Cake at dishingup.wordpress.com. Check it out if you can!


  51. Heys! This looks like an easy recipe. Could you state the measurements in cups / tbsps though as I do not have a weighing machine. Thanks!


  52. This looks nice and easy. TQ for sharing the recipe.


  53. Hi Lee,
    Thank you, thank you for posting this recipe. I have been hunting for the perfect banana cake recipe for AGES and have tried so many only to be disappointed! I love this version, truly! It is easy to make and oh so yummy! Its so soft and warm – its just perfect. Keep up the good work on your blog and I’m looking forward to trying more of the recipes here! :)


  54. Why i took an hour to steam the cake?


  55. Just made a batch. So delicious. The banana taste was just lucious! Thinking about adding walnuts next time. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe


  56. [...] when i’m hungry: i looked at food blogs online. one thing led to another, and i found myself here. steamed banana cakes! i wanted to make these so badly, but during all the talking earlier, [...]


  57. hi, can i ask if the 200g bananas is weighed with the skin on or already mashed?

    can i use the electric whisk to whisk the egg and sugar together? will it affect the steamed cake?
    and how long does it take for it to reach the ribbon stage?

    sorry for the many questions!!
    thx for sharing this recipe! :)


  58. Hi , not understand for this “whisk together Eggs and sugar till ribbon stage.”
    what is ribbon stage?


  59. i have tried to make this, it is fantastic!!..superb!


  60. Thanks for your lovely recipe.
    I followed exactly but was unable to get the cake to crack like a flower despite adding another 1 tsp baking powder?
    Kindly let me know what went wrong, thanks.


  61. HI if i use olive oil, can be done?


  62. I just tried this out; but I always seem to have a problem with steamed cakes.

    When I check it after 15mins it looks raised and fine but wet, so I steam it some more and it flattens; worse, it never gets done! It’s like permanently wet even after steaming for 40 minutes. =(

    Any advice especially on the flattening?


  63. Hey…if I want to make orange steam cake, how much orange juice should I add in substitute of the Banana…


  64. Hi Thanks for the recipe.i think the bananas i use is not ripe enough so not that sweet n fragrant.
    Any particular banana i should use?
    Also how long should i whisk the egg n sugar?
    How do i prevent the air deflating when mixing with flour?When i finish mixing i notice the batter deflated to half already.Is it because of this my muffin doesnt rise like yours? Thank you!


  65. Hi, just wondering would it affect the taste if I omit the baking soda?


  66. Hi Amanda, I tried making the cake yesterday, everything went well except for the oily taste which eclipsed the taste of the bananas. I followed the proportion listed in the recipe and the oil I used was Naturel (blend of canola & sunflower oil). Could it be due to the oil I used? Thanks


  67. thx for sharing this recipe, today i make this and the smell of banana so heavenly ^^ warm regard from Indonesia


  68. hi, they look delicious! i don’t have a muffin pan. i would like to use a cake pan. so how big is a cake pan that i can use? thanks


  69. Hi Amanda,

    Your banana cake looked so yummy! soft & moist! However, I tried making them but failed. No matter how hard I whisk the eggs and sugar together, it still won’t reach the ribbon stage. It’s just like the normal beaten eggs. Do you whisk by hand or a mixer? Please advice as I really want to try this out. Thank you so much.


  70. Hi,

    I would love to try this cake..looks simple n yummy! can i bake instead of steaming? thx


  71. [...] Trying out a muffin recipe but with some changes in sugar and flour. Cross section of muffin or [...]


  72. Hello!

    i live in a tiny room in paris, which has no kitchen, but i have sneakily bought a steamer, and these work perfectly!! its so wonderful to have a cake that i can make in here, so easily!!! i love it!! i call them my fluffy little banana happy cakes!! Thanks so much!!


  73. Helo…i found ur recipe at 10 am this morning. and by 12pm, i got to work. the muffins look and taste sooo good, i am definitely gonna make some more after this. tq so much for sharing this recipe :)


  74. I just make this cake and it taste so good and yummy, !! Thank you for sharing this lovely recipe.!!


  75. Need picture on how to mka ethe banana cake


  76. Hi,
    Thanks for sharing your banana muffin recipe!
    I tried and the muffin taste good.
    The muffins stay soft and fluffy even after the next day.. :)

    Cheers!


  77. Hi Mandy,
    Can i put in more bananas? Eg, instead of 2 banana, i put in 4 bananas?

    If yes, do i need to adjust other ingredients like flour etc?

    Cheers.


  78. Thank you for sharing the recipe! I have just make this steamed banana cake. It took much longer cooking time as i used a pudding basin instead of muffin cups. The result was light and fluffy, exactly what i was i hoping for.


  79. I was very pleased to find this web-site.I wanted to say thanks for your time and for this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoy every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you blog about.


  80. Hi,

    Just sharing, I did this cake for the 1st time today and everything seems right till after the mixture went into the steamer. I saw my measured oil sitting there on the scale. Of course it didn’t turn out that fluffy but it’s still very nice and it’s totally fat-free. I did only half the portion. Will do it again and this time, will make sure the oil goes in. Simple & nice recipe. ^^


  81. hey i tried this recipe, it looks great but tasted so weird!!! the flour taste abit too overwhelming and i don’t know why it’s just so smelly. but i followed the measurement yet i think that the floor is a little too much or idon’t know what’s wrong. it’s a little toooooo soft.


  82. The quick black wolf jumped over the lazy dog


  83. hey i already tried your recipe and i added some raisins above it.
    the whole family loves it! thank you for sharing your recipe :)


  84. [...] came across this recipe a few weeks ago and realized that it’s been a while since I made anything [...]


  85. Tried it out and it’s rlly good!! Substituted the self raising flour w top flour and I’ve added in chocolate rice. Rlly yummy and healthier alternative to baked banana cake!


  86. hi! can you post some blogs that related on how to baked using a streamer? thanks. really appriciate :)


  87. [...] (7-8muffins) [  Original recipe adapted from here [...]


  88. Thank You for this recipe!I made a slightly chunky version. Check out mine! I made for my family love it. Check out mine!!


  89. Tks for sharing d recipe. I just tried it out yesterday n its fluffy n nice. Love it so much.


  90. I was wondering, is there any way to incorporate milk into this recipe? I’m just curious, since I want to try it out. :D


  91. Hi Baker Lee! Thanks sooOOOooo much for the recipe. I just made it..and it the cake taste good! It’s a big deal for me (I know sound silly)…since this is the 1st time that I attempt to make a cake.

    One again..thanks!


  92. Greetings from California! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the info you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, good site!Weatherford Roofing & Roofers, 1880 Mineral Wells Hwy, #102, Weatherford, TX 76088 – (817) 330-8551


  93. I steam in a wok for 20 mins but when I poke the middle it still sticks on the chopstick. So I steamed another 5 mins and the outcome is still the same. Should it be as such? first time steam a cake.


  94. What do you mean by whisk together Eggs and sugar till ribbon stage? What is ribbon stage?


  95. Hi there, yup this paragraph is actually pleasant and I have learned lot of things from it concerning
    blogging. thanks.


  96. Wow, amazing blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is great,
    let alone the content!


  97. […] to thank their kind support, here is another MUST TRY steamed cake recipe for sharing. Adapted from Amanda of Held by Love, Bake from Scratch, it’s a handed down recipe from her friend’s mother. These cupcakes are dairy-free and […]


  98. This technology will allow you to retrofit your existing housing inventory at reasonable prices and with
    minimal disruption to add a fresh twist for wooing homebuyers.
    Good home audio cables can make perfection in sound.
    A large amount of people consider their car an extension
    box of themselves, so naturally they wish to represent
    themselves the best they’re able to.


  99. Please measure the sugar, flour and oil in terms of cups or tbsps.?



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

