h1

Vanishing Oatmeal Raisins Cookies

April 30, 2008

Who would have expected such quality cookies from a recipe off a lid? I certainly wouldn’t till I overcome my “fear” and decided to try. 1st saw this at <Blonde Ambition in the Kitchen> pictures of her yummy cookies attracted me, so I bookmark them and had them on my to-do list, since my kitchen is always stocked with quaker oat =X I must say, this is by far the best oatmeal cookies I made *grin* I like my cookies crispy and crunchy instead of soft and chewy. I added a few more baking minutes, and they turn out crispy, light :P lesson learnt? It is worth to give recipes on the lid a try! The following recipe is from <Quaker’s Oat>Did these sometime back, with Quality Assurance(QA) procedure outsourced to several QA personnels :P Reviews was great~ Made them into mini bites size… 1 teaspoon amount, good and cute things comes in small sizes yea? :P (But sadly, when one overdose on these, small and cute waistline will all be just a dream >.< ) Enjoy!

Mini Vanishing Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients:
½ pound/2 sticks/ 226g margarine or butter, softened
1 cup/220g firmly packed brown sugar
½ cup/ 70g granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1½ cups/180g all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
½ teaspoon salt (optional)
3 cups/ 150g Quaker® Oats (quick or old fashioned, uncooked)
1 cup/ 40g raisins

Steps:

  1. Preheat Oven to 175 Degrees C.
  2. In large bowl, beat margarine/Butter and sugars until creamy.
  3. Add eggs one at a time followed by vanilla extract, beat till well combined.
  4. Add flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt, mix well.
  5. Add oats and raisins, mix well.
  6. Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto baking sheets.
  7. Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until light golden brown.
  8. Cool 1 minute on cookie sheets; remove to wire rack. Cool completely. Store tightly covered.

Verdict?
I reduced the sugar as usual, used around 150g of brown sugar instead of a combination of brown and granulated sugar. Love the cookies! But the next time, I will increase the cinnamon to 2 teaspoon as I would prefer a stronger cinnamon taste. :P

- .: Baker Lee :.

17 comments

  1. hmm.. is this e 1 that you bake for me the other time? the good-luck cookies? i love the texture!!!!


  2. these do look wickedly good. and my mate was just letting me have a whiff of her oatmeal raisin cookie smelling lipgloss today! what a pleasant coincidence.


  3. You always make impressive photos, making get up and try to do this by self. Thanks a lot for this.


  4. Vanishing is right, those wouldn’t last a second in my house! I made mini ones for the holidays this year and I ate about half the batch myself, oops!


  5. Ling: yea! that’s right~ :P

    Diva: woah~ cookie smelling lipgloss! for real? O.o

    Rishat: :D thanks for the kind comments~

    Madeline: *high five* i ate about half too~ before i gave them away~ :P good stuffs!


  6. WOW! This looks really good and yummy!


  7. hey amanda, good looking oatmeal cookies you have there. i’ve been searching for reliable oatmeal cookie recipes ever since I took up baking. I tried some really good cookies from a shop at shaw centre (always cannot remember the name, it’s that one at Beach Road) and want to make them myself. one small bottle used to cost S$12 (3 years ago) can’t imagine what it costs now :P


  8. yummy!


  9. These cookies look delectable. I like your measuring spoon. Hehe..


  10. Funny how your household has an abundance of oats, whereas mine absolutely has none! I’ve been meaning to try my hands on oatmeal cookies, but never seem to get around it. Must be the lack of oats in the kitchen -_-’


  11. They almost vanished off your screen into my mouth! Looks delicious!


  12. These are making me drool. They would be amazing with ice cream, yummy!


  13. Hi Amanda, another great recipe. I baked these last night for my daughter to give to her teachers. As we were in a hurry, only managed to bake for 12+ minutes. Kids enjoyed them tremendously. Very satisfying bake! Thanks for recommending and sharing.


  14. Yuri, I’m glad u enjoyed it! =) yours looks really good!


  15. Every year, I bake the original back-of-the-lid oatmeal raisins recipe, too….with some modification. Everyone loves it in my family! The only thing I change is to double the amount of raisins and soak these for at least 5 hours in 1 beaten egg (one of the eggs in the recipe) mixed with 3 tbsp of warm water. Of course, place the soaking raisins in the fridge. Follow all other instructions in the recipe. It’s Yummi-er!


  16. 345 degrees F for all the Americans out there!!!! woop woop!


  17. I can’t seem to properly browse this page from my iphone!!!!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

