h1

Homemade Lotus Paste

July 26, 2008
Homemade Lotus Paste

Homemade Lotus Paste

Ingredients:

200g Lotus Seeds
180g Sugar (personally not a fan of paste that’s overly sweet, reduced it to 120g)
160ml Peanut oil (I Opt for healthier option, reduced to 100ml of Olive Oil)
1 Tbsp Honey
1 Tbsp Condense milk
1/8 Tsp salt

Steps:

  1. Soak Lotus Seeds with water and allow it to rest for 20 mins.
  2. Drain and discard water from Lotus seeds. Pour in hot boiling water and cover it for 30 mins.
  3. Wash away lotus seeds skin and remove green centre then cook seeds with water till soft and tender.
  4. Blend the lotus seeds till smooth.
  5. Heat up a wok/pan, melt half the sugar until it turns golden brown in color.
  6. Pour in blended lotus seeds, remaining sugar, oil and salt.
  7. Cook over medium flame, stirring all the time until the lotus seed paste thickens.
  8. Stir in honey and condense milk. Continue stirring till paste leaves the side of the wok/pan.
  9. Cool before use.
37 comments

  1. How many grams of lotus paste would this recipe yield?Thanks! Just a rough estimate would do.


  2. Hi Quinn, it yields about close to 450gm of paste for me. :) hope that helps.


  3. Yeah, it helps.Thanks a million


  4. Hey, I just made this. Do I store this in room temperature in a container or in the fridge? Also, how long can this keep?Thanks!


  5. Hi Amanda, I followed your instructions but my paste came out really burnt and hard despite me stirring and using medium flame. What should I do? Thanks


  6. Quinn, i’ll keep mine in a container at room temperature for 1-2 days, if still unused, then the fridge, else freezer for storing over a longer period. i suppose not more than 1 week? since there are no preservatives added in it.

    Juliet, you are to cook the paste till they are able to leave the side of the wok. burnt and hard, might be the pan u are using, i used a non stick wok, therefore it allows me to add in less oil and not stick or burnt easily.


  7. Thanks Amanda! I will try with another non-stick pan.


  8. Hi Amanda

    I tried your homemade lotus paste but had to substitute Splenda for sugar (same measurements). My paste was light in color, and not too thick. (It is not runny but it does not look as sticky as your picture). Also, when you say blend the lotus seed, do you mean including the water it was boiled in? Thanks…I love your blog and will be visiting often. I was able to order the mooncake mould from Elyn from your link so I am quite happy!


  9. Hi Raquel, if you would like a darker tone lotus paste, during the caramelize step for the sugar (step 5) cook it till darker brown. runny paste is the result of too much water content in the paste, continue to cook it till dry =) i’m glad u ordered from Elyn, i love the mooncake mould!


  10. this reminds me of the constant stiring more than an hour to make the lotus paste.. my hand and arms were aching by the time i finished making them.. but it’s definitely worth the effort!


  11. hi amanda, can i use dried lotus seeds to make the paste?


  12. Ling, i agree, it is tiring with the constant stiring~ =X

    Abby, yes, i used dried lotus seeds in this recipe =)


  13. Raquel, which kind of Splenda did you use? The No Calorie Sweetener should be used only to sweeten in cooking. The Sugar Blend is half Splenda, half sucrose, and works better for this kind of recipe. It might also solve your color issue.


  14. hey
    i live in melbourne AU and was wondering if they sell lotus seeds here. is it even common? i need it for my school project relating to china. wanted to make some mooncakes to give to the class xD

    thanks


    • u can buy lotus seeds in a china town, in a market.


  15. hey were do u find lotus seeds in geelong


  16. Hi amanda how long do you cook your seeds? mine’s always seems hard.


  17. Hi Amanda.. just wondering if you can help on this… i tried making the lotus paste twice .. but both time the texture is not as smooth as what u have.

    I am a newbie at this… the only problem that i see is the washing of skin part …

    When i try to wash them, i cant seem to find any skin ? Would u be able to tell me what I done wrong?


  18. worse still .. i accidentally burnt my 2nd batch of paste .. all the stirring and peeling all went down the drain

    : ‘ ( sobz .. so i wanna find out before i attempt the 3rd time…


  19. Hi,
    Thanks for sharing this lotus paste recipe.

    May I know how much water shall I use to cook the lotus? Do I need to blend the lotus with the water in the blender?


  20. this recipe (450 gm lotus paste) can make how many moon cake ?


  21. Hi, i have try making this paste, everything seems ok, but after cooling it, the paste seems too sticky to handle. Any solution to this? Thanks!


  22. Is it fine to use canned boiled lotus seeds found in the Asian grocery stores to make lotus paste? No dried lotus seeds are available
    The recipes are a little vague online.
    Can I mash the canned boiled lotus seeds and then put a little oil and sugar or condensed milk and cook over low heat, apparently for a hour, careful not to burn?
    Seems I would have to add more liquid that just the drained boiled lotus seeds, sugar and a little oil.


  23. I’m making this for my friends with lactose intolerance. Can I substitute the condensed milk with other ingredient say coconut milk?

    Thank you!


    • i dont think u can, because isnt condensed milk a milk that has been thickend?


  24. Can I use substitute the condensed milk with milk powder or milk?

    Thanks!


    • can i substitute other ingredient beside condense milk and may i know why condense milk is added in this recipe?


  25. Hi,

    Have tried making lotus paste. Is it suppose to have a strong lotus seed taste?

    I’ve bought lotus paste from phoon huat, before making my own and the taste is really different. The one from phoon huat doesnt have lotus seed taste at all (or atleast I cant taste the lotus seed).

    Thanks!


    • I have the same problem, mine has a very strong lotus seed taste aswell. which i dont really like =\

      My aim is to get it tasting like resturant standard lotus paste.


  26. Is it 200g in its dried state or 200g in its hydrated state?


  27. [...] 300g Lotus Paste 50g Melon [...]


  28. roughly how long do you have to cook it while stirring- from step 6 to step 8 and then from 8 to finish?


  29. pls let me know can i substitute condense milk and why is it use in this recipe would appreciate your reply on this


  30. Hey,

    What type of sugar is used?? . . i found a different lotus paste recipe on youtube, which the sugar is added in last. Does this make a huge difference if added first or last??


  31. Hi, do I use water when I blend the lotus seeds?


    • Yes, i would advise to use water when blending to achieve a nice smooth paste


  32. […] recipes together and tested them out to make my own.  Lotus paste recipe coutesy of Amanda http://amandalwh.wordpress.com/2008/07/26/homemade-lotus-paste/.   The golden syrup recipe coutesy of Christine Ho […]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

