h1

Steamed Rice Cake

October 21, 2008

Another one of my “hop back to traditional goodies” post :P These certainly brings back memories! Yum! Was suppose to purchase Glutinous rice flour to make more Ang Koo Kueh, but by mistake, Mummy bought 2 packets of Rice Flour!

Since i have 2 packets on hand to play with, i started to hunt and for recipes, and spotted this on <Chow Times>

1st thought >> “Must make!”

2nd thought >> “Must eat them with that orange-colored sugar”

LOL, i seriously dunnoe what is the name of this sugar. =X anyone able to help here? :P

I had mine together with some sweet coconut fillings as well =D

Verdict?
Only regret is that……….

i should have made some in pink! :X

20 comments

  1. hey gal gal,
    the orange sugar is call 红糖。。。
    and.. your steamed rice cake looks so nice!!! can share the recipe with me?


  2. wow, it’s really retro time…. make me wanna try it out too!


  3. Hi there Amanda,

    It’s my first time visiting your blog thru Mrs Kwok’s. I totally love it and it’s so fun to read because I guess you are a fun gal. Great bakes. :) Will be back to visit.


  4. hello amanda, i landed her through a series of links. nice blog you have here, i had fun reading yr entries. these cakes look good! and i’m going to try yr oatmeal raisin recipe soon. :)


  5. I love these when I was a little girl and I still love them today. Hope my little girl loves them too. For now, she prefers the real cake and not kueh. hehehe


  6. Xiaozhu I wan to eat these steam rice cakes!!!!
    favourite favourite!


  7. Hi!
    I’m Brazilian and this web site is just AMAZING!
    You have recipies for Beatyful Food!
    I SO whant to MAKE them!!!
    I do not know if here in Brazil i’m going to find all the ingredients.

    Bless You!


  8. u won’t believe when i say that my sis-in-law is leaving hong kong and wants to finish all the stuff she has which includes 2 kgs of rice flour….yes u guessed it…i’m gonna make these rice cakes.


  9. Hi Amanda,
    Just to let you know that you’ve been tagged in my blog. Have fun! (http://passionbaker.blogspot.com/2008/11/green-tea-macarons.html)


  10. just found your blog and i love all to try out traditional recipes too!


  11. Hi Amanda,

    I just started learn baking. And your site really helps me alot. Do you mind that i have your email nor IM so that can keep in touch with you to share some thought and ask for any query?


  12. ANy updates?


  13. I love your site!

    _____________________
    Experiencing a slow PC recently? Fix it now!


  14. Hi Amanda

    I’ve recently tried making these little gems. So yummy and nice..really brings back lots of good & fond childhood memories. Cheers OS


  15. i enjoyed looking at your posts re: the steamed cakes! will add you to my blogroll! keep it up!


  16. I never thought of making these cakes – they were always bought from the market for prayers on the first and 15th of the lunar month. Strange how we can bake western cakes, and I don’t even have a steamer at home to make these lovely huat kueh


  17. Stumbled upon your blog a while ago when searching for a recipe.
    Wow..your blog makes me hungry! i want to eat everything you’ve made!

    Nice job cooking, photographing and enjoying life!


  18. Fantastic recipe!If you won’t mind, I’d really love to guide foodista readers to your site. Just add your choice of Foodista widget at the end of this blog post and you’re all set. Thanks!


  19. Amanda, where are you? I’ve just discovered your blog and all of your fantastic foodstuffs, but it seems as though you’ve stopped blogging a year and a half ago :[ Great food!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

