h1

Custard Raisins Sweet Bun

November 28, 2007

I love baking at night! Somehow just like studying, I perform the best at night~ =X I cant explain y~ If I have the whole day free to myself, I’ll end up sleeping *giggle* or doing random stuffs, but not studying! >.< I prefer baking at night, normally after dinner, say between 8pm – 10pm window period. 😄 y? I guess, after dinner I just dun wanna sit down! Baking allows me to stand n move ard abit in the kitchen. (^.^ v) the product of my hard work, will be ready for supper (if any1 feels hungry =p) and also will be fresh for breakfast the next day~

I had the whole day to myself today, since there’s no class, I woke up late =X need to recharge my battery! Been sleeping for less than 4hrs since the ubin trip… during our usual tue gym session, yunjie asked for cinnamon rolls. 😄 set me on track, back home, I took out my sweet bun recipe, knead my dough~ only to find that I’m out of brown sugar! >.< bye bye cinnamon roll… cleared my baking cabinet hoping to find some goodies! Found custard powder which I bought sometime back. Brings back memories… =/ decided to make something out of it! So tada! new creation… Custard raisin sweet bun! =X

The best thing abt baking is when u try out new recipe, mix and match recipes to form something u like or even come out with yr very own recipe. (^^,) and the best thing abt making bread, is that u just need to knead it, leave it to proof, and u can go off doing yr stuffs =p my bread proofed for a long long time! at least 4hrs and above, as i was at my cousin’s place fixing their comp. =X

They seriously smells good! after taking all these shots, mum n dad gobbled down more than 1/2 of the whole tray! hee~ take a look at the texture of the sweet bun folks!

 

Ingredients:

(A)
75g bread flour
75g cake flour
1tsp yeast
60g milk
½ egg
30g sugar
25g butter

(B)
1 tblsp Custard powder
½ tblsp Sugar
85g milk
10g butter
1 tsp vanilla extract

20g raisins

Glazing: ½ egg

Steps:

  1. Place all ingredients in (B) into a pan and stirring constantly bring to the boil gently.
  2. Remove from the heat. Leave to cool, place a piece of cling film onto the custard to prevent a layer of skin from forming.
  3. Mix all ingredients in (A) together to form a dough.
  4. Place the dough on a lightly floured surface; knead the dough until the dough is elastic, smooth and non-sticky. It will take about 25 mins to knead the dough by hand. (lazy me, let my mixer do all the work! *wink*)
  5. Place the dough in the oiled bowl and cover with cling wrap (to seal in the moisture), let it proof for 1 hour or till it doubles in size.
  6. Take out the dough and punch out the gas produced. Let the dough rest for about 15 minutes.
  7. Roll out the dough into an oblong shape; spread the Custard and raisins on it. Roll it out Swiss roll style and slice it into pieces, thickness according to your liking.
  8. Arrange them on a greased pan and let it proof for until double in size.
  9. Brush the top with the egg mixture.
  10. Bake for about 15 minutes in a preheated oven at 180 degC.

– .: Baker Lee :.

3 comments

  1. Oh, these look so yummy!!


  2. (^^,) Thanks for the kind words HHB! I love your bakes! Looking at them makes me a HAPPY baker too!


  3. Hi I tried this recipe but it was quite bad I had to throw it out. The bread didn’t look like your picture at all!

    The dough was very wet & sticky even after kneading for a long time and the custard was quite lumpy too.



Leave a Reply

