h1

Cotton Soft Japanese Cheesecake

December 9, 2007

Cheesecake is a sweet, cheese-based dessert. “Japanese-style cheesecake relies upon the emulsification of cornstarch and eggs to make a smooth flan-like texture and almost plasticine appearance.” (quoted from wiki) My evil twin, yani loves japanese cheesecake! So i decided to do some testing 1st b4 offering it to her~ *bow* hee~ made Aishi my guinea pig and apprentice! since she was at my place today, she helped me with the sieving of flour and also the folding of the mixture. (^.^ v) and also be the 1st to taste this! And indeed, it’s cotton soft (^^,) very light and soft… and it melts in your mouth. It is recommended that a thread should be used to cut this cake instead of using a knife. so that the slices stay in shape. 

 

Ingredients:
140g fine sugar
6 egg whites
6 egg yolks
¼ tsp cream of tartar
50g butter
250g cream cheese
100ml fresh milk
1 tbsp lemon juice
60g cake flour
20g corn flour
¼ tsp salt

Steps:

  1. Melt cream cheese, butter and milk over a double boiler. Cool the mixture.
  2. Fold in the flour, the corn flour, egg yolks, lemon juice and mix well.
  3. Whisk egg whites with cream of tartar until foamy. Add in the sugar and whisk until soft peaks form.
  4. Add the cheese mixture to the egg white mixture and mix well. Pour into a 8-inch round cake pan (Lightly grease and line the bottom and sides of the pan with greaseproof baking paper or parchment paper).
  5. Bake cheesecake in a water bath for 1 hour 10 minutes or until set and golden brown at 160 degrees C.

Water bath is 1 of the method to ensure even heating, therefore helping to keep the cheesecake from cracking during the baking process.

– .: Baker Lee :.

8 comments

  1. Hi Amanda

    I really love your bakes.. so yummy.May I ask if it is ok for me to post the Japanese cheesecake recipe in my website after I tried baking this cake?

    cheers
    Olivia


  2. Hi olivia, Thanks for the kind comments 🙂 there’s still alot for me to learn 😛 the original recipe is posted by diana, lovely recipe i mus say… tasted really good. do try it! 🙂 and share some with me *wink*


  3. Hi Amanda

    I totally agreed – there is lots to learn from each other. Ok I will go ahead to try out the recipe and then post it in my website. Will acknowledge both yourself and Diana.. (BTW what is Diana’s website address??)

    Do visit me at http://www.foodlovepassion.blogspot.com

    Cheers
    Olivia
    http://www.foodlovepassion.blogspot.com


  4. Ah looks good! I haven’t tried this one yet, will do. 😀


  5. Hi Amanda,
    This is a really nice cake to eat – my brother adores it. I have linked this page to a post I am currently writing.
    I browsed your other recipes and found the snoopy-faced cookies very cute! I might have to make them for my little nephew’s birthday party at the end of this month.
    Thank you for posting such lovely recipes

    Li


  6. Lovely. Great site.


  7. to much eggs, idon’t know #2 go to where?
    Thanks


  8. The style of writing is very familiar to me. Did you write guest posts for other blogs?



Leave a Reply

