h1

Corn bread

January 16, 2008

Do you fancy Sweet Corn Muffins? I have a liking for those served at Kenny Rogers! *lick lips* been a long time since I last visited, say at least 1year? Or maybe 2years. =X Hee~ I’m recently in the Corn-y mood!! =X 1st cornflake crunchies, now sweet corn muffins! =p on hand I have a sweet corn pudding and a cornflake cookies recipe to try out too! *gasp* so if u fancy sweet corn related goodies, stay tune for more corn-y goodness! *evil laughter*

Took a real long time to decide what to make for today 😮 cornflake cookies or corn muffins? Ended up picking muffins, trial run 1st b4 bringing them to school on Friday. (^^,) Did some research about cornmeal some time back, Forum mates recommended Albers Yellow Cornmeal. Fine cornmeal so that the muffins will not have a coarsely hard taste.  I happen to see them at Raffles city’s Marketplace, how can i not get them! 😄 7bucks! so it better taste good!

the sun was so good, that I really wanna go for a swim n get my tan back! >.< But I really need to stay home n start “spring cleaning” my room, b4 I aggro my mum! *panic* She has been requesting me to start tidying up for a week already, and I really dun wanna get her into berserker mode ;P Good girl Amanda, pull out the recipe, prepare the ingredients, mixed and pop it into the oven, then off to spring clean! It was only after I mixed up the batter, then I realized that I’m out of muffin cups =/ DANG!! So no choice, I have to turn it into corn bread~ 😄 Thank God! The only difference between corn bread and muffin is the baking time. Here is the copycat recipe taken from topsecretrecipes. 😀

Ingredients:

120g Butter
135g Sugar (reduced the sugar to 70g and it tasted just nice for my family)
60g Honey
2 Eggs
120g Milk
190g Plain Flour
90g Cornmeal
½ tsp Baking Powder
130g Corn Kernel (frozen type)

Steps:

  1. Preheat oven to 200 Degree C. Grease baking pan ( if making corn bread)
  2. Sift plain flour, baking powder and cornmeal, set aside.
  3. Mix together butter, sugar, honey, milk and egg.
  4. Add in Sifted mixture and corn kernel, mix till just combined.
  5. Pour mixture into greased pan or muffin cups.
  6. Bake for 35-40mins (corn bread), 20-25mins (muffins) or till an inserted skewer comes out clean.

Verdict?

Mummy enjoys it, she requested for me to bake a pan tml morning for her Qi Gong friends. (^^,) Bro had a slice and as usual his comments “ok lor”, “Not bad” That’s all =/ cannot ask guys for comments! They always give standard replies so not exciting! >.< I can’t remember the taste of Kenny Roger’s muffins, but the result of this recipe is still pretty much to my liking. 😄 not too far off I guess! Hopefully they will not turn too hard or dry the next day. Gave some to Yunjie when I met her for our gym session so let’s wait patiently for her feedbacks!

– .: Baker Lee :.

Leave a Reply

