h1

Sugi Cookies

January 22, 2008

 

Sugi cookies! CNY must bake! =p Sometime in April 2007, I tried Crunchy Suji Cookies from a cookbook -> Delicious Asian Sweet Treats, by Oi-Lin. Taste good, but it carries a strong egg-y scent, which I do not fancy. =X personal preference I guess~ Did some google-ing 😀 and came across a few sites, This recipe is from Little Corner of Mine, I would say I prefer this over my 1st sugi attempt *cover mouth* I will still be trying another recipe though~ =p It’s from QBB site, yes QBB is a brand of Ghee… =X not as healthy as compared to this recipe, but I’m sure the taste will be richer :p no harm trying since I have some unfinished ghee. 😀


Ingredients:

170g Plain Flour
60g icing sugar
½ tsp salt
½ tsp baking soda
1 tsp vanilla extract
80g Olive Oil

Steps:

  1. Preheat oven to 175 Degree C.
  2. Combine all ingredients into a mixing bowl, Mix well. Dough will be slightly crumbly.
  3. Using hands, shape cookies into balls. Line them up on baking tray.
  4. Bake for 15 – 18mins. Cool on wire rack before storing in air-tight container.

Verdict?
They are simple and easy to make, just combine all ingredients together, shape, bake and *drum rolls* Sugi cookies! so try them! 😀 I reduced sugar content from 90g to 60g but mummy still finds it sweet =X to me, sugi cookies are meant to be sweet, they are meant to be taken in small portion and enjoyed slowly instead of gobbling. =p

– .: Baker Lee :.

2 comments

  1. The cookies would look more tempting if you color the dough pink and apple green. Roll them in some castor sugar before baking.


  2. Hi how many cookies does 1 batch yield? Thanks



Leave a Reply

