h1

Sweet Bread

February 18, 2008

Pretty bread yea? (^^,) *lick lips* I’m in the bread mood! =X all of a sudden, I crave for some homemade bread~ ❤ who doesn’t love homemade bread? The smell when the bread is proofing *sniff* The scent when it’s baking~ ahhhhhh~ The taste!! The soft, chewy bite when you land yr teeth into a nice warm, freshly baked bread~ *float around* YUMILICIOUS!!

 

My whole family are all not feeling really good recently, we caught the cold bug~ *sigh* family doctor been making tons of our $$ *boo* since all of our appetite isn’t that good, I decided to go easy and make this sweet bread bun without any complicated fillings 😀 Just simple plain or with raisins sweet buns. Taken from Alex Goh’s bread cookbook~ it calls for cold water, but I replaced it with milk since I have some leftovers in the fridge. 😄 Halve the portion to make 1 small raisins loaf and 7 buns. 😛

 

Ingredients:
(A)
240g bread flour
60g plain flour
50g castor sugar
10g milk powder
2 tsp instant yeast

(B)
1 egg
150g Milk

(C)
20g unsalted butter
5 gm salt

Toppings (optional)

Black and white sesame seeds
raisins
almond flakes

Steps:

  1. Mix (A) till well blended. Add (B) to form a dough. Add in (C) and knead until dough is elastic and smooth.
  2. Gather dough to form a ball and cover dough with cling wrap and let it rest for abt 50-60 mins or double in size.
  3. Divide dough into portions of 60 gm each. Shape into balls and leave it to rest for abt 10 mins. Roll out dough and wrap with desired fillings. Shape as required and let it proof on lined or greased baking tray for another 50-60 mins or until dough is double in size.
  4. Apply egg wash (1 beaten egg) or milk on dough and sprinkle toppings as desired on it. Bake dough at 180-190ºC for abt 12 mins or till lightly brown.

Verdict?
I’m very very satisfied! 😀 They so soft that I have trouble removing them of the pan without de-shaping the pretty form! >.< though I did greased it lightly… =/ I ❤ soft sweet bread! 😛

– .: Baker Lee :.

14 comments

  1. the bread looks delicious & it reminds me of sunflower.. keke..
    u must be lemming for some sunflowers right?
    i’ve asked my mum and she said that this is a good season for planting the seeds. ^.^


  2. Hey girl,

    I just tagged you for a meme! Do a 5 facts about you meme alright! 😉

    The buns look oiishi neh!


  3. Cuiling : Thanks for asking your mama for me! ^^ hee~ time to start planting again! *pull out long flower pot*

    Fei: MeMe! never done 1 b4! haha~ okie! just for u, i will do it!


  4. Pretty & pretty perfect too. Am still trying to win my battle with yeast!!! These look great!!


  5. I am so making these—right now! They look so tasty! Gotta go! 🙂


  6. I love how you topped each in a different way!


  7. I made it, and love it! 🙂


  8. Deeba & Hillary: Thanks for the kind comments! (^^,)
    Medena: whee! i’m glad u tried it! 😀 i love to spread chunky peanut butter on them. *drool*


  9. They look pretty also here. 🙂


  10. I would love to try your sweet bread recipe. I would like to know if you ever make the entire recipe into a single loaf or braid instead of indiviual rolls? If you have, how long did you bake it and how do you keep the color from getting very dark on top, as with other sweet breads I have tried.
    I sincerely hope you have time to respond as I need to make some soon and your recipe sounds like the one I would like to try.
    Thank you very much.


  11. Hi mary, i have yet to make these into a single loaf, most of the time, i make them into bun size, but i’m sure baking time will increase accordingly, say an extra 10mins? hope that helps. 🙂


  12. Hi Baker Lee

    I have tried your recipe and its very yummy. However, afte the bread is left overnght, they become a bit hard. Also the dough is so sticky, I had a hard time taming it. In the end, added some raisin and used a spoon to scoop up the dough into balls and bake them. I tried kneading but still sticky. Any advice.

    Many thanks
    Breadlover


    • I had the same problem. I thought i did it wrong the first time, so I did it again, but it was still very sticky and did not form into a “dough” form. It took much longer to rise and… not sure how it will turn out but i’m about to bake it right now.


  13. Hi Caroline~

    the dough is not supposed to be sticky… it should be elastic and shiny. add more flour gradually and knead till u achieve shiny and elastic texture. 🙂 hope that helps



Leave a Reply

