h1

Cream Cheese Pound Cake

March 6, 2008

Deeba’s beautiful pound cake tempted me~ YES! Seriously tempted me to make some moist buttery and yummy pound cake! But i’m out of lemons at home, therefore i’m unable to try her recipe. According to most pound cake lovers, Pound cakes are easy and simple to bake, in terms of technique and ingredients, smell out of this world and tastes better as the days go by… Indeed! I totally agree with all stated above!😛 the aroma in the kitchen *deep breath* was sooooooo wonderfully buttery!

But sadly, *sigh* it seems like I’m jinx!! with pound cake! >.< i can’t seem to conquer pound cakes >.< *depressed* this is like the… *count fingers* 4th time I attempted on pound cakes? Achieved the dense texture, but it always ended up dry instead of moist. =( anyone knows y?

Attempted on this cream cheese pound cake from allrecipes, highly rated with 5 stars! And over 200 comments… I was full of hope! Hoping that it will turn out wonderful this time~ Followed the instructions clearly, the steps and temperature control, but like before, it did not! T.T it ended up dry… It got to be something wrong with me! *pull hair* sponge cake, chiffon cake I don’t seem to face any problems~ it’s just always pound cakes! >.< I’m depressed! =(

Ingredients:
170 g butter
110 g cream cheese
300 g white sugar (Reduced to 150g)
1½ tsp vanilla extract
½ tsp almond extract
3 eggs
215 g cake flour

Steps:

  1. Preheat oven to 165 degrees C. Grease baking pan.
  2. Cream butter, cream cheese and sugar together till light and fluffy.
  3. Stir in vanilla and almond extracts.
  4. Add in flour and eggs alternately, beginning and ending with the flour.
  5. Pour batter into the baking pan. Bake for 60-45mins or until an inserted skewer comes out clean.

.: Baker Lee :.

13 comments

  1. what kind of pan do you bake it in? I use a pyrex glass loaf pan for poundcakes. i think loaf pans are the best way to retain the moisture and glass lets me see the color develop. I think the lower baking temp and longer time might also be drying them out. maybe going higher, closer to 350F (175C). they should have a slightly darker thicker crust (which is my fav part of pound cakes) when it’s cooled in the pan, the center should remain moist and the top should be soft.


  2. Hi eatyet! I used a standard loaf pan =X i agree on the darker crust part, they are delicious!😀 but even with this lighter tone, my crust is hard and dry~😦 I will try it again with a glass loaf pan and try increasing the temperature too! thanks for the tips!😛


  3. I make this cake at least 3 times a month and my family loves it…Have never ever had a flop…your cake lookes like mine but the ingredients are different!!! 3 cups of plain flour martha white(no subs),3 sticks of butter,3cups of sugar,6 eggs,1 8oz philadelphia cream cheese(no subs),1/4 t salt, 1/4 t b.powder..then I add 7 different flavorings!!!yes this gives each bite a different flavor..mmmmmmmbake at 300 degree for 1 1/2 hrs…mix the crap out of the ingredients!!!!if you need more information email me at rrr48nc@yahoo.com


  4. Rhonda! thanks for the offer🙂 guess it time for me to overcome my fear and try making pound cake again!


  5. Hi again,
    You might need to increase your eggs, usually the recipe for pound cake is every 50g flour to 1 egg. Your recipe should have at least 4 eggs.

    Rgds, Kium


  6. Hello All,
    I need some assistance. I made this pound cake last night, but the consistency came out a little messed up. It came out a little dry and the bottom half was really dense (that thick, sold density). Where did I go wrong? I followed the recipe exactly the way it was stated. Please help:(


  7. Clarification – The recipe I used called for 6 eggs and was based on all purpose flour. I used cake flour and added the additional flour as instructed. Everything else was pretty much the same as this recipe.


  8. try this for great pound cake
    6 eggs, 3 level cups of cake flour, 2 sticks of margarine, 1 stick of butter, 1 8 oz philadelphia cream cheese, 1 t. vanilla, 1 t. lemon extract, 3 cups sugar.

    1st you have to cream your (room temp) butter for about 5 minutes, then put in your sugar and beat on high, for about 8 mins, until light and fluffy. After it’s light and fluffy, add 1/2 cup of flour, and one egg, and beat for only a few seconds until all is mixed, then alternate the other egg, and a little more flour, until you blend all the eggs and sugar, but this process you must be pretty quick about because you cannot over beat, this whole process of adding the flour and the eggs, should not take over about 2-3 mins. and you should only beat it on medium. If you have to stop the blender in between, do so, so that you do not overbeat on this part. After you have added all six eggs (one at a time) with all the flour, immediately turn off and then add your vanilla and lemon and beat for a second or two and stop. Spoon into a well greased or floured pan, and the twist the pan with your hand. Put into a 315 degree oven and bake 1-1/2 hours. (Preheat only for about 7-8 mins.)


  9. Question: When I bake pound cakes, many times the top crust is yummy, crunchy and absolutely delicious. Problem is, the crust also is a bit raised above the actual cake part, which means that when I take it out of the bundt pan, it crumbles and doesn’t look pretty because it’s so cracked on top. What causes this? I’ve wondered if it could be that the eggs were beaten so much that they actually rise and form a foam on top which cooks and separates from the rest of the cake. I’m at a loss and would appreciate your help.


  10. Hi! I baked a cream cheese pound cake too from allrecipes.com yesterday and I thought it turned out dry as well but today it tasted much much much better! LOL. So have you tried it again and how was it? Anyway, I hope it will be ok with you if I used your picture in my blog – I baked the cake but did not take a shot of it😦 Thanks!


  11. I get this crust that separate from my cream cheese pound cake when I take it from the oven.


  12. why do I get a crust on my cream cheese pound cake when it comes out of the oven?


  13. I don’t have almond essence



Leave a Reply

