h1

Easter Special III – Hot Cross Biscotti

March 23, 2008

*wave*
Happy Easter! 😀

Part 3 of my Easter Special, is just like the previous two parts, all following the hot cross theme. Key ingredients, dried fruit, spices and top with a cross. Last night, my conversation with good pal, Ling goes something like…..

Me: girl… what should be my next hot cross product? Hot cross cake? Hot cross biscotti? Or? O.o

Ling: Biscotti of cos!! Cos I love them. Plus cinnamon and dried fruits goes well with biscotti.

Me: LOL, >.< alright! That’s it! But I have never baked biscotti before! Dare to be my guinea pig n test it out for me? 😛

Ling: I DARE!!

So off I went in search for a biscotti recipe which consists of the stated key ingredients when I came across Tartelette’s post on Lenox Biscotti, based on the Dorie Greenspan’s Baking From My Home To Yours. 😀 a perfect chance for me to try out another Dorie’s recipe before investing on her book! Tartelette did abit of tweaking to the recipe and made a cranberry version of this recipe, it was that delicious that she made another batch right after!

“If you want a foolproof recipe that you can adapt to your heart’s content, well look no further.” – Tartelette

WOAH! I’m fully convinced that this is the recipe for me! 😛

Lenox Biscotti, from Baking From My Home To Yours

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups (190g) flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 cup (140g) cornmeal
1 stick (113g) butter, at room temperature
1 cup sugar (220g)
2 eggs
1 1/2 tsp almond extract
3/4 cup (70g) sliced almonds

For hot cross version: (optional)
2 tsp cinnamon powder
1/2 cup (60g) of dried cranberries

Melted white/dark/semi-sweet chocolate (topping)

Steps:

  1. Preheat oven to 175 Degree C.
  2. In stand mixer (hand held is fine) cream the butter and sugar.
  3. Add the eggs, beating well after each addition. Add the flavor extract you chose.
  4. Sift together the flour, baking powder, salt, cornmeal (and cinnamon powder) and add to the butter mixture.
  5. Fold in the nuts (and cranberries).
  6. Scrape half the dough onto a parchment paper lined baking sheet.
  7. Using a spatula and your fingers, form the dough into a log, 12 inches long and 1 1/2 inches wide.
  8. Repeat with the second portion of the dough.
  9. Bake for 15 minutes or until the logs are light golden but still soft to the touch.
  10. Let cool for 30 minutes but keep the oven on.
  11. With a long serrated knife cut slices from each log and spread them out onto baking sheets.
  12. Return to the oven for another 15 minutes until firm.
  13. Cool on wire rack before storing into air-tight container.


Verdict?
Cornmeal enhances the texture of this biscotti, special crunchy/sandy texture. I enjoy them! am pretty happy with my 1st attempt as well! 😛 though the next time I will make sure that they are being slice thicker. Gave 1/2 to Ling and another 1/2 to Adela, both
Biscotti Lovers and coffee lovers. I hope I didn’t fare too badly for my 1st attempt~ *fingers crossed*

– .: Baker Lee :.

7 comments

  1. it’s me again!!!
    The choice of cimmamon sugar, cranberries, and almond is excellent. Texture wise is similar to usual biscotti sold outside but just that it’s not dry enough.. it’s a little too moist. Sweetness level is just nice cause u know i don’t like too sweet stuff. Personally i felt that the portion of cinnamon can be alittle more. But maybe it’s just my own personally preference. ^.^

    Verdict: not bad for 1st attempt!


  2. Ling: (^.^V) I shall make these again! like the taste of cornmeal in it. This time, i will be sure to make it the way you like them, more cinnamon, drier and thicker 😀 stay tune k!


  3. That cranberry biscotti looks good. The use of the cornmeal sounds interesting.


  4. Yummm…. i have to make this sometime!


  5. Hot Cross biscotti! What a cool idea! They look delicious, you make me crave them all over again!!


  6. yeah!!!! ^.^ i want some more


  7. Kevin: Thanks! yes, cornmeal gives a delicious texture to the biscotti! do try these ^^

    Spencer: yes u most certainly should! 😀

    Tartelette: girl! Thanks for the recipe! 🙂

    Ling: Anytime! 😛



Leave a Reply

