h1

Banana Buttermilk Pancakes

April 13, 2008

Rise and shine! 😀 start a beautiful Sunday with a yummy breakfast! Breakfast is the most important meal yea? Therefore, do remember to feed yourself well and happy. Been craving for some pancakes for awhile, let’s see, it was actually on wed night >.< Suddenly the urge to have some pancakes flood into my brain, I blame it on my fellow classmate which discussed about McDonald’s Delivery (online order is now available) during our Ecommerce revision class! Ecommerce = McDonald’s online order = hotcakes 😛 I bet that must be the link~

Made these rectangular-shape babies this morning… who says pancakes ought to be round? 😛 Got the recipe off Dorie’s book, Pancakes from Morning to Midnight. Seriously, these are sooooooo good! I’m lovin it! really soft, fluffy… gives the “yea….” feeling! I tell u! These are super when they are just done, but even leaving them out there, they still taste as soft and fluffy! Dad lazes in bed as usual, since it is a Sunday, but after 2hours, they are still good!

I added banana to this buttermilk pancakes, resulting in nice, fragrant, soft bananas pancakes! Love the part when u chewy on some bits of bananas giving the pancake some extra sweetness. 🙂 I enjoyed my share with some maple syrup + slices of bananas + a scoop of chunky peanut butter! 😀 ❤ peanut butter. here’s mine…. so how do u like yours? 😛

Ingredients:

1 cup/125g plain flour
2 tablespoons sugar
1 ¼ teaspoons baking powder
¼ teaspoon baking soda
¼ teaspoon salt
1 cup/8 fl oz/240ml buttermilk **
1 large egg
3 tablespoons/1 1/2 oz/40g unsalted butter, melted

Optional:
1 banana (chopped into cubes)

** No buttermilk on hand? You can make your own, by adding 1 tablespoon of vinegar or lemon juice to 1 cup of milk. Mix and let it stand for 10mins. And remember to give this mixture a mix before using it.

Steps:

  1. In a medium bowl whisk the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
  2. In another bowl or jug mix the buttermilk, egg and butter.
  3. Combine the wet and dry ingredients.
  4. If making bananas pancakes, add it into the mixture
  5. Fry pancakes.

Verdict?
Perfect breakfast! I’m lovin it! am sure gonna make these the next time I have guests in my place~ 😀 simple, yet delicious.

.: Breakfast Chef Amanda :.

31 comments

  1. Looks delicious… Elvis would approve!


  2. I love pancakes that aren’t round – I have a mini heart-shaped frying pan that makes adorable pancakes! XD These look gorgeous, perfect breakfast food! ^__^


  3. Elvis pancakes! Yummy!


  4. Hey, just wanted to let you know I love your blog (and those pancakes 🙂 ) and nominated you for an award at my site. The link is here: http://yummysmells.blogspot.com/2008/04/bittersweet-well-mostly-sweet.html. Congrats!


  5. Oooh, I love banana pancakes 🙂 And with peanut butter? You certainly must have had a treat for a breakfast, young lady! 😀


  6. Marc and Jerry: Thanks! and yes Elvis pancakes! just lacking the chocolate syrup running on them~ *drool*

    Indigo: heart-shaped frying pan! *gasp* i need to get one of those!

    Sarah: Thanks for your kind words and the award! 🙂

    Ovenhaven: yes, 🙂 i’m 1 happy girl with peanut butter.. 😀


  7. Those pancakes look really good!


  8. YUM YUM…WOW, don’t these look like just the perfect breakfast! Bookmarked!!


  9. These pancakes look so lovely. I like mine with banana too, and maple syrup.


  10. Hey Mandy…I’m back to let you know I have an award waiting for you.
    http://passionateaboutbaking.blogspot.com/2008/04/malted-oat-pistachio-cookies-distinct.html
    Cheers girl…keep smiling!!


  11. Delicious, and thank you for the recipe! I am certainly going to try! 🙂


  12. Thanks guys + girls for the kind comments! 🙂


  13. i love breakfasts!!!!! especially lovely ones like this! (:


  14. Hi Amanda, sorry this may be a stupid question..may I know how you make the pancakes rectangular? And how to fry the pancake such that it does not turn too brown? By the time the pancake is firm enough to flip over to the other side it is very brown on 1 side already..Thanks!


  15. Hi Kellie, I used a rectangle frying pan, here’s how it look like -> http://www.houserice.com/tamagoeggpan.html
    use a low medium flame 🙂 so when it is about 2/3 cooked, the underside will not brown too much. hope that helps 🙂


  16. oh I see.. Thanks for the tip. Shall make some for breakfast tomorrow : ).


  17. Am eating this as I type! Yummy and fragrant, especially with banana! 😀


  18. breakfast foods should always be high in carbohydrates to provide the energy you need in the mornign ::


  19. breakfast foods should always be high in protein and also in carbohydrates, we need food energy during the early morning `;’


  20. Well… I can do this. i am going to try is as soon as i get home.


  21. Thanks so much for this intelligent post;this is the kind of thing that keeps me awake through the day. I have been searching around for this site after asked to visit them from a colleague and was thrilled when I found it after searching for awhile. Being a avid blogger, I’m pleased to see others taking initivative and contributing to the community. Just wanted to comment to show my support for your blog as it is very challenging to do, and many writers do not get authorization they deserve. I am sure I’ll be back and will send some of my friends.


  22. 52. Hello my friend! I wish to say that this article is awesome, nice written and include approximately all vital infos. I’d like to see more posts like this .


  23. I have been exploring for a little bit for any high quality articles or blog posts in this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this website. Studying this information So i am satisfied to express that I have an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I came upon exactly what I needed. I such a lot for sure will make certain to don’t disregard this site and provides it a look a continuing.


  24. where to buy Premier and Stitched San Antonio Spurs jerseys ??…

    […]we adivce go to this website to see more about San Antonio Spurs jerseys and others. […]…


  25. I have viewed that intelligent real estate agents all around you are warming up to FSBO Marketing. They are noticing that it’s more than merely placing a sign post in the front yard. It’s really regarding building interactions with these retailers who at some time will become purchasers. So, while you give your time and energy to encouraging these suppliers go it alone – the “Law involving Reciprocity” kicks in. Interesting blog post.


  26. hello!,I love your writing very so much! percentage we

    keep in touch extra approximately your article

    on AOL? I need an expert on this area to resolve my

    problem. May be that’s you! Looking forward to peer you.


  27. What’s Going down i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered It

    positively helpful and it has helped me out loads. I am hoping to contribute & help different users like its aided me. Great

    job.


  28. There is apparently a bunch to identify about
    this. I consider you made certain good points in

    features also.


  29. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your

    site? My blog is in the exact same area of interest

    as yours and my users would truly benefit from some of

    the information you present here. Please let me know if this ok with you.
    Thank you!


  30. Hiya very nice website!! Guy .. Excellent .. Wonderful .
    . I’ll bookmark your website and take the feeds additionally? I’m happy to
    search out a lot of helpful information right here in the
    post, we want work out more strategies in this regard, thank you for sharing.
    . . . . .


  31. Your style is unique in comparison to other people
    I’ve read stuff from. Thank you for posting when you
    have the opportunity, Guess I will just bookmark this page.



Leave a Reply

