h1

Granny Boyd’s Biscuits

June 7, 2008

While waiting for Nigella’s Sweet and Salty Peanut Biscuits to bake in the oven, i flipped through her book and spotted this!

GRANNY BOYD’S BISCUITS

The recipe for these biscuits was given to me, at mu insistent request, by my editor, Eugenie Boyd. I don’t think there is a more chic accompaniment to a tub of good vanilla ice cream: they’re sturdy – in shape and form like Bendick’s Bittermints – dark, smoky and melting.

– Nigella Lawson

Nigella’s comments on this recipe convinced me to try it out! 😛 and i am really glad that i did!

Ingredients:

300g Self-Raising Flour
30g Cocoa Powder
250g Unsalted Butter (room temperature)
125g Caster Sugar

Steps:

  1. Preheat the oven to 170 degrees C.
  2. Sieve Flour and Cocoa Powder and set it aside.
  3. Cream butter and sugar till light and pale in color.
  4. Mix in flour mixture, it might look like it needs liquid, but keep working the ingredients in and it will form a dough.
  5. Roll into walnut-sized balls and arrange these on the baking sheets.
  6. Flatten these balls with the back of the fork.
  7. Bake for 5mins at 170 degrees C and then turn the temperature down to 150 degrees C for a further 10-15mins.
  8. The biscuits should feel firm on top although not hard. Remove from the oven and transfer to cool on wire rack, before storing in air-tight container.

Verdict?
Another wonderful recipe added to my keepers list! (^^,) I love how simple it is to make these~ ❤ Check out the ingredients called for! No Eggs! the texture of the cookies was really great as well! it has the texture of melting moments and best of all…. chocolate! 😀

– .: Baker Lee :.

18 comments

  1. These look lovely and I love the description of the texture. So simple! I’ll try them soon.


  2. Your blog is great… you have to post this on this awesome site POSTEDWITHLOVE.COM… under the food/recipies section!!!


  3. The photographs are great! I am no cook, but makes me definitely want to give it a try.


  4. Even though its 90 degrees here, your pictures have made me want to bake !!!


  5. Ooof, I’ve been looking for great chocolate cookies which have that shortbread, or melting moments texture. Thank you so much for sharing, sweetie! Definitely gonna try this out. Hopefully it’d satisfy my month-long craving! 😛


  6. I made these biscuits and I found the conversion really rather difficult for US measurements, but, they STILL turned out to be the best cookie I’ve ever made.


  7. Kate: *grin* i’m glad u tried these! Nigella’s recipe is indeed good!

    ovenhaven: yes! try try girl~ i’m sure u will love it! 😀

    gabriellestravel: *shoo* head to the kitchen now~ u will not regret making these! 😛


  8. tried baking it today and it was so yummy! love it..thanks a lot for sharing..


  9. Tried this recipe today during my free time.
    Replaced the cocoa powder with ovaltine powder and baked 7minutes with my oven because I don’t have a microwave.

    The whole thing ended up tasting uber dry. =/

    I guess I’ll be sticking with the original one next time.


  10. […] first saw these on Amanda’s, and I knew that I had to give them a try. With just four ingredients and simple preparatory steps, […]


  11. Can I ask if the biscuits are very crispy or are they moist?

    My hubby keeps asking me to make those super uber crispy biscuits but i can’t seem to make these. The recipes I found so far are mostly moist and crumbly.


  12. I’ve tried to make these! So crunchy and yummss! Oh and they are also so easy cheesy to make.. Thanks mandy for sharing the recipe 😀


  13. Substitute the cocoa powder for Cadburys hot chocolate powder and throw in a few chocolate chips and you’ve REALLY got something


  14. I made these the other day because I have a bunch of cocoa powder I need to use up before I move and they genuinely do melt in the mouth! I added some semi-sweet chocolate chips (because they make everything better) and my boyfriend declared them to be the best cookies I’ve baked in the two years we’ve been together!


  15. Great recipe for coffee mornings, fundraising, and making with children … always a winner 😀


  16. Spot on with this write-up, I absolutely think this
    website needs a great deal more attention. I’ll probably be back again to read more, thanks for the info!


  17. What a material of un-ambiguity and preserveness of valuable experience regarding unpredicted emotions.


  18. […] Bank. | New CBeebies drama for pre-schoolers set on inner city council estate. | Balls. | Granny Boyd’s biscuits, a Nigella recipe you almost certainly have the ingredients for in your house. | Leila’s […]



Leave a Reply

